Black in America Part II

bb2 I was invited to attend the pre-screening of Black in America II in Washington D.C. Let me just say being black in America is not about being impoverished or highlighting the fact some black neighborhoods aren’t as educated as others. So I welcome the fact CNN decided not to harp on that aspect. Instead, CNN tried to show while there are poverty-stricken places in America, there are also those areas where higher education is not just an option-it’s a must. Journalist, Soledad O’Brien, talked to some interesting people including Steve Perry, who is the principal and founder at Capital Preparatory Magnet School in Hartford, CT. Personally, I think he is probably the most realest and caring principal I’ve ever witnessed. He is strict on his students, but what shocked  and impressed me about his school is that 100 percent of his students go off to college. Every one of his students go to a four-year college. That is always his mission. He said if it’s not 100 percent then he’s not doing his job and neither is the school itself. I applaud him and obviously he is doing something right! And the students love him, so it goes to show tough love is great when it’s done right!

Because it was a pre-screening, we were unable to see the whole documentary, but what I did see was inspiring. Journalist, Roland Martin, was the moderator and though I could only see him for a short period of time, he left those of us who were in the overflow room a powerful message. Martin expressed his concern of not only committing and striving  to see President Barack Obama in 2017, he blatantly told the crowd if you make a commitment  to be an impact in the black community for the next 365 days and after that year you realize you have not done it, then you have become the issue of black America. While many people may argue that sentiment, I believe Martin was trying to give people a wake up call that black America is not going to change if people don’t plan to follow through in their commitments for CHANGE. Hence the reason why we constantly see stories on poverty and uneducated black children. Let’s be the change!

Published in: on July 15, 2009 at 7:44 PM  Comments (2)  

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m very happy to hear that Part II of the documentary displays some of the positive aspects of African-american communities. I was extremely disappointed with Part I and didn’t plan on tuning in.

  2. Hey girl! Thanks for the comment on my first post! Michael just told me you recently moved to DC- how is that going? I hope to keep in touch with you and look forward to reading your blog!
    Danni 🙂


Leave a Reply

